Management of Actual or Potential Aggression or MAPA for short is an accredited training programme that teaches management and intervention techniques to cope with escalating behaviour in a professional and safe manner.

In respect to this, what does Mapa training stand for?

2. Physical Intervention (Restraint) Physical intervention is defined by the Authority's Management of Actual or Potential Aggression (MAPA) training as “the use or threat of force to help do an act which the person resists, or the restriction of the person's liberty of movement, whether or not they resist”.

Furthermore, what is PMVA training? PMVA (Prevention Management of Violence and Aggression) is an essential requirement when working within any mental health environment. Train Healthcare ensures that our PMVA training is to the GSA (General Services Association) standard.

Simply so, what is the purpose and philosophy of the MAPA training Programme?

With a focus on prevention, our MAPA® (Management of Actual or Potential Aggression) programme teaches management and intervention techniques to help you cope with escalating behaviour in a professional and safe manner.

What are the 3 main types of physical intervention?

There are three broad categories of physical intervention:

  • Direct physical contact between the carer and person with challenging behaviour (e.g. holding down of arms)
  • The use of barriers to limit freedom of movement (e.g. locked doors)

Related Question Answers

What are the three types of restraint techniques?

Three general categories of restraints exist—physical restraint, chemical restraint, and seclusion.

What is MAPA training?

The Course contains the foundation of the MAPA® training Programme. This helps people deal with aggression in a calm way that keeps everyone safe. MAPA® is a set of ideas and skills to help people who are aggressive or violent to calm down. MAPA® encourages people to communicate through actions as well as words.

How long is CPI good for?

Length of CPI certification varies between institutions. After successfully completing a CPI training at SCRED, certification is valid for 12 months.

What is the value of learning the four levels and corresponding staff attitudes?

Answer Expert Verified. The value of learning the four levels and corresponding staff attitudes is that it helps us to prevent escalation or de-escalation in crisis situations.

What is Breakaway training?

Breakaway training aims to deal with these threatening situations by teaching the delegate the correct procedures for protecting themselves and those around them. It's very similar to self-defence in the way that it teaches protection and breakaway techniques in circumstances of aggression and physical assault.

What is Maybo training?

The Maybo training is designed to support our colleagues in spotting signs and trigger points where behaviour may become challenging and this empowers them to address the situation before it escalates into an incident. “The MLP programme has revolutionised our conflict management and physical intervention training.”

What is DMI training?

De-escalation Management & Intervention (DMI) Training is a holistic approach that looks at risk assessing and putting care plans in place to allow for the earliest possible non-physical interventions to take place as well as equipping staff with the skills needed to deal with situations where a physical intervention

What is the crisis development model?

CPI defines the Crisis Development Model as a series of recognizable behavior levels an individual may go through in a crisis, and corresponding staff attitudes/approaches used for crisis intervention.

How long is PMVA training?

3 days

What should I wear to PMVA training?

Due to the physical nature of this course we cannot accept any pregnant candidates on the course, post- natal learners should seek advice from their GP prior to attendance. All candidates must wear suitable clothing, e.g. tracksuit bottoms, trainers and t-shirt.