Just tap on the menu button at the topright corner of a post from the offending user, and tapMute. Their posts will no longer populate your feed,and they won't be alerted that they've been muted. It alsoworks with Stories, and you can mute from the menuthere as well.

Subsequently, one may also ask, when you mute someone on Instagram do they know?

Your friends won't know whether you‘vemuted them. Much like Twitter's mute and Facebook'ssnooze features, muting people on Instagram will hidetheir Stories and posts without them knowing. Users canstill visit muted friends' pages to see their posts andunmute their friends whenever they choose.

Subsequently, question is, what does it mean to mute someone on Instagram? Instagram today introduced a way to muteaccounts, giving users a way to continue following accounts withoutseeing their posts all the time. Muted accounts will not bemade aware that they've been muted, and users can unmuteaccounts at any time.

Also know, can I mute someone on Instagram?

To mute someone, tap on the three-dot icon at thetop-right corner of their post. A list of options will showup, one of which is Mute. You'll then have the option tomute only photo posts, only story posts, or both.Alternatively, you can mute someone by visiting theirprofile, or with a long press on a story.

What happens when you mute someone on Instagram messages?

The Mute button is located on each user's profileand can be used to disable two-way communication between youand that person. If you mute someone, they will notbe able to send you an inbox message, write on yourprofile's message board, or leave any comments on yourstories.

Related Question Answers

Can you see if someone muted you on Instagram?

You will NOT know if someone hasmuted your Instagram story, nor will they know ifyou do the same. When you Mute an Instagramaccount, the modal will confirm that Instagram willNOT let the user know that you‘ve muted them.See screenshot below: You can unmute an accountdirectly from their Profile.

What happens when you mute someone messages on Instagram?

The mute feature allows you to hide photosfrom specific users in your feed without having to unfollow them.And you will continue receiving notifications for photosthat you were tagged in, even if that user was muted.Plus you will continue receiving direct messages fromthat user if they send them.

What does Muting mean on Instagram?

The Facebook-owned photo sharing app will soonlet you mute that annoying friend from college who postsincessantly — without unfollowing (and offending) them. Themute button, which will roll out to as a test toInstagram users in the coming weeks, has been high upon people's wish lists for years.

Can you Unsee someone's Instagram story?

Now you want to unsee this. Mean thestory uploader not know you watch it or not. Here isa procedure by which you will be able to unseen yourview which will not make the other person see your name inthe viewer's list. This way you can view Instagramstories anonymously.

Can the person who blocked me on Instagram still see my profile?

Users will not be notified when you block them.If you are the blocker (not the blockee), you can stillsearch and find the Instagram profile you blocked. Ifthat account is public, you'll even be able to view theirposts. However, you won't be able to like or comment onanything.

Can a mute person scream?

There are people who do not use oral language anddo produce non-speech sounds such as laughing, crying, sighing,grunting, etc. There are also people who are physicallyunable to produce any voice sounds at all. One example would besomeone who has had a Laryngectomy.

Can you hide your posts from someone on Instagram?

You can‘t hide a post, which youpublish on your feed, from your followers. Onlyoption is to hide an Instagram story from certainpeople and you can change it in the settings(once you upload a photo/ video it will be 3dots button ‘…' at the right corner at thebottom of photo, called ‘Story Settings').

Does blocking someone on Instagram delete messages?

If the blocked person and you are a member of thesame group chat, blocking will not delete or removeyou from the group. You will still be able to send and receivemessages. However, you will not see each other's newmessages in the group, unlike block in WhatsApp wheregroup messages are not affected.