The 8 WHMIS hazard symbols are:
  • Class A: Compressed Gas.
  • Class B: Flammable/Combustible.
  • Class C: Oxidizing Materials.
  • Class E: Corrosive.
  • Class F: Dangerously Reactive.

Then, what the Whmis symbols mean?

WHMIS (Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System) helps identify the hazards of products like chemical and infectious agents. Inside this border is a symbol that represents the potential hazard (e.g., fire, health hazard, corrosive, etc.). Together, the symbol and the border are referred to as a pictogram.

Likewise, how many Whmis symbols are there? WHMIS uses a classification system to indicate specific hazards and properties of products. There are six main classes and some sub- classes. Each has a corresponding symbol that workers should be able to easily recognize. Some materials may have more than one symbol.

Beside this, what are the 10 Whmis symbols?


  • Exploding Bomb (Explosive) This symbol addresses products that can and may become explosive if not handled in proper conditions.
  • Flame (Flammable)
  • Flame Over Circle (Oxidizing)
  • Gas Cylinder (Gases Under Pressure)
  • Corrosion.
  • Skull & Crossbones (Acute Toxicity)
  • Health Hazard.
  • Exclamation Mark (Health Hazards)

Where can Whmis symbols be found?

Pictograms will be on the product supplier labels of the hazardous products you work with. They will also be on the SDSs (as the symbol or words that describe the symbol).

Related Question Answers

What are the 9 Whmis symbols?

The 8 WHMIS hazard symbols are:
  • Class A: Compressed Gas.
  • Class B: Flammable/Combustible.
  • Class C: Oxidizing Materials.
  • Class E: Corrosive.
  • Class F: Dangerously Reactive.

What are the 9 pictograms?

Here's a look at the nine pictograms.
  • Health Hazard. Carcinogen. Mutagenicity. Reproductive Toxicity. Respiratory Sensitizer. Target Organ Toxicity.
  • Gas Cylinder. Gases Under Pressure. Corrosion. Skin Corrosion/Burns. Eye Damage. Corrosive to Metals.
  • Flame Over Circle. Oxidizers. Environment. (Non-Mandatory) Aquatic Toxicity.

What is a Class A hazard?

Each class has a specific symbol to help people identify the hazard quickly. The classes are: Class A – Compressed Gas. Class B – Flammable and Combustible Material. Division 1: Flammable Gas.

What is the symbol for toxic hazard?

Poison symbol

The skull-and-crossbones symbol (☠), consisting of a human skull and two bones crossed together behind the skull, is today generally used as a warning of danger of death, particularly in regard to poisonous substances.

What are the 3 main parts of Whmis?

There are three key components to WHMIS:
  • Worker Education and Training. Worker education programs provide instruction on the hazards of hazardous materials in the workplace and training inunderstanding and using WHMIS information.
  • Labels.
  • Material Safety Data Sheets.

What is the difference between Whmis symbols and safety symbols?

What is the difference between WHMIS and HHPS? All WHMIS symbols have a circle border. HHPS symbols have either an octagon, a diamond, or an upside down triangle. WHMIS products are for workplace or used in a lab , where HHPS is a household place, where products are used for household.

What are the 4 hazard categories?

GHS Hazard Class and Hazard Category
  • Explosives.
  • Flammable Gases.
  • Aerosols.
  • Oxidizing Gases.
  • Gases Under Pressure.
  • Flammable Liquids.
  • Flammable Solids.
  • Self-Reactive Substances.

What is MSDS used for?

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is a document that provides health and safety information about products, substances or chemicals that are classified as hazardous substances or dangerous goods.

How long is Whmis?

about 60 minutes

What is the new Whmis called?

Changes to WHMIS

WHMIS , now known as WHMIS 2015, has changed to: adopt new international standards for classifying hazardous workplace chemicals and giving information and safety data sheets. classify hazardous products into two broad hazard groups, physical hazards and health hazards.

How many pictograms are there?

GHS Symbols

The GHS system, part of OSHA's Hazard Communication Standard (HCS), consists of nine symbols, or pictograms, providing recognition of the hazards associated with certain substances. Use of eight of the nine are mandatory in the U.S., the exception being the environmental pictogram (see below).

What is Whmis 2015?

It is a comprehensive system for providing health and safety information on hazardous products intended for use, handling, or storage in Canadian workplaces. WHMIS has aligned with the worldwide hazard communication system known as GHS – the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals.

Why do we use pictograms?

Pictograms (also known as “pictographs” and often used synonymously with “icons”) are images that are used to represent data. It's common for infographics to make use of a pictogram. They present data in a fun and new way, and can be very effective for communicating a message in an emotionally evocative way.

What does GHS stand for?

Globally Harmonized System

What does the explosive symbol mean?

To warn us of the hazards chemicals use hazard symbols. This type of substance gives of a large amount of heat when in contact with other substances. Explosive. A substance that may explode if it comes into contact with a flame or heat.

How many GHS symbols are there?

There are a total of nine different pictograms, each representing a different type of hazard. Learning about each of them is essential for anyone working with or around hazardous chemicals.

What does the exploding bomb symbol mean?

Exploding Bomb (Explosion or reactivity hazards)

The symbol of an object exploding is used to clearly signify that the material is explosive and risks combusting when handled improperly. These materials should be handled only by professionals under safe conditions.

What are the 4 key elements of Whmis?

The four components of WHMIS are:
  • hazard identification and product classification.
  • labels.
  • safety data sheets (SDS)
  • worker education and worksite specific training.

What is a safety symbol?

Safety symbols, hazard symbols or safety labels are meaningful and recognizable graphical symbols that warn of or identify hazards associated with the location or item.